Menu Icon Created with Sketch.

Sarah OSullivan Resilience

Resilience is Lithgow-based ceramic artist Sarah O’Sullivan’s response to the fragility and the strength of the Australian landscape – its capacity to absorb disturbance and maintain its integrity as a functional ecosystem.

Many Australian ecosystems have evolved with resilience to regular disturbances such as bushfire, flood and drought cycles. O’Sullivan draws parallels to the ceramic medium in which soft clay is extracted from the earth and transformed into hard, stonelike
porcelain after being subjected to the intensive firing process.

Individually, her ceramics represent different aspects of the natural Australian environment - disparate foliage, textures, seeds and
shadows. Grouped together, her ceramics demonstrate the survival and subsequent rebirth of the environment – Resilience.

A BRAG exhibition

Image: Sarah O'Sullivan, 'Perminerala' 2018, hand-painted porcelain and mixed media. Image courtesy of the artist. Photo: Debbie Gallulo.

Details

7 Feb, 2020
9:00am - 5:00pm
Bathurst Regional Art Gallery
70–78 Keppel Street, Bathurst
Get Directions
Show on Map

More Dates:

  • Fri, Feb 7: 9:00am - 5:00pm
  • Sat, Feb 8: 9:00am - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 9: 9:00am - 5:00pm
  • Mon, Feb 10: 9:00am - 5:00pm
  • Tue, Feb 11: 9:00am - 5:00pm
  • Wed, Feb 12: 9:00am - 5:00pm
  • Thu, Feb 13: 9:00am - 5:00pm
  • Fri, Feb 14: 9:00am - 5:00pm
  • Sat, Feb 15: 9:00am - 5:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 16: 9:00am - 5:00pm

Admission

Free

Facilities

  • Carpark
  • Conference / Convention Facilities
  • Family Friendly
  • Non Smoking
  • Parents Room
  • Public Toilet
  • Shop

Enquiry Form

Contact Us

#StepBeyond

Follow us @visitbathurst

Book Now